Navigate Up
Sign In
district,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalert/feed.xml;washington,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerthw/feed.xml;truman,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerttr/feed.xml;daley,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertda/feed.xml;olive-harvey,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertoh/feed.xml;kennedy,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertkk/feed.xml;wright,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertwr/feed.xml;malcolm-x,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertmx/feed.xml

Child Development

Alishia Atkins, Ed.M.

Program Coordinator
 
The Child Development Program at Kennedy-King College provides an excellent starting point for a career in education. The A.A.S. degree and Advanced Certificate seekers receive knowledgeable instruction, methodology and insight in all aspects of developmentally appropriate curriculum for young children.​        
        

Child Development Program:  Student Requirements        
         

Students enrolled in the Child Development Program are required to complete field experience hours in all Child Development courses.          

Background Check/ Physical: All students (volunteers) are required to complete field experience hours at a facility requiring the completion of a background check and health physical, as mandated by the Illinois Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS). The financial cost associated with a background check is the responsibility of each student enrolled in the course.  Background checks, and health physicals are current for one full calendar year. The State of IL now requires all volunteers or non-employees to pay for all fees associated with background checks. Please follow each facility’s guidelines for the background check and health physical requirements. If a student has an adverse background, he or she must consider the impact of this factor on his or her completion of the Child Development Program, and/or future employment opportunities.          

Documentation Requirements: All students participating in a field experience opportunity for Child Development courses must complete the following:         

·     Background Check (Please follow the child care facility’s guidelines. The background check is usually valid for at least one calendar year.)          

·     Physical (Please follow the child care facility’s guidelines. The health physical is usually valid for at least one calendar year.)          

      At the start of each semester, course instructors will provide forms for the required documents listed below.         

·     A facility information sheet          

·     Time log (The classroom teacher at the specified facility must initial next to each day/hour(s) of attendance.)          

·     Signed field experience completion form by the director, principal, or supervisor of the educational facility.​           

​​​​
 

Programs

Child Development - Pre-School Education
 

Faculty & Staff

​NAME ​PHONE ​EMAIL ​OFFICE
Alishia Atkins​, Ed.M. ​773-602-5334 aatkins11@ccc.edu ​Y-136
Adrienne Stewart, M.Ed.​ ​773-602-5351 astewart78@ccc.edu​ Y-133​
Anna Russell​, Ed.M. ​773-602-5481 arussell@ccc.edu​ ​Y-133
Ayelet Miller​, M.A.T. ​773-602-5337 amiller148@ccc.edu​ Y-136​
​Calvin Moses, Ed.D. ​773-602-5351 cmoses@ccc.edu​ ​Y-138
​Deedra Austin, Ed.D. ​773-602-5351 daustin@ccc.edu​ ​Y-133
Jeanette Williams, M.A.T.​​ ​773-602-5351 jwilliams266@ccc.edu​ ​Y-133
Sharon Taylor, M.S.​ ​773-602-5352 staylor202@ccc.edu​ ​Y-133
Yolanda Simmons, M.Ed.​ ​773-602-5337 ysimmons5@ccc.edu ​Y-138
  

Related Services

​Child Development Practicum 259 Requirements

Child Development 259, Practicum in Preschool Education, is the  terminal course in the Child Development Program. In order to enroll in the Practicum course, every eligible student must complete a Practicum application. In addition, students must attend a mandatory orientation after the application has been reviewed, and approved.

The Practicum Supervisor will contact eligible students with all information regarding the date and location of the orientation session. Students who have completed all of the required Child Development core coursework, with a grade of “C” or better, are eligible to apply for the Child Development 259 course.

Applications will be available by accessing the attached application below.  
  • Applications for students seeking enrollment in a Spring practicum must submit the application no later than the last Monday of the month of November. 
  • Applicatons for students seeking enrollment in a Fall practicum must submit the application no later than the last Mondaof the month of March.
​All applications must be submitted to Suite Y 131. Please find the Child Development Practicum Application below: 

Contact Information

Phone: 
773-602-5351
Fax: 
773-602-5350
740 W. 63rd Street
Building Y, Suite Y-131
Chicago, IL 60621
Get Directions

Hours

9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Publications

Learn More