Navigate Up
Sign In
district,https://zapier.com/engine/rss/1124838/EverbridgeNotification2/;washington,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerthw/feed.xml;truman,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerttr/feed.xml;daley,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertda/feed.xml;olive-harvey,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertoh/feed.xml;kennedy,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertkk/feed.xml;wright,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertwr/feed.xml;malcolm-x,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertmx/feed.xml

Social Sciences

Ted Williams

Department Chair
 
The Social Science Department commits to help Kennedy- King College fulfill its mission by serving students who need to meet the general education core requirements in the Social Science Discipline for the AA, AAS, and AS degree. These degrees prepare students to transfer to a four year college, enter and compete in a global workforce/marketplace and live in communities challenged by changing socioeconomic needs, cultural diversity and technology. To ensure that Social Science Department is meeting its mission, it commits to implement ongoing comprehensive assessment processes. The data from these ongoing comprehensive assessment processes are used to revise/ enhance instruction and learning. To this end, the Social Science Department adopts the following purposes:                   

  • Provide courses that enable students to meet the general education core requirements.
  • Provide advanced classes in specific disciplines such as sociology, psychology, history, and political science that meet the Illinois Articulation Initiative Criteria.
  • Continue to offer US History and Political Science courses which students may use to meet the requirement for waiving the constitution test.
  • Continue to offer courses which are required by other programs, specifically in the applied sciences.
  • Increase articulation and course offering with other colleges and universities specifically in the area of criminal justice.
  • Involve students with global populations and global issues.
  • Enhance instructional delivery with online and offline technologies. 

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
 
 

Faculty & Staff

​Faculty ​ ​ ​
​Name Phone ​Email ​Office
Ted Williams, Chair ​(773) 602-5169 twilliams3@ccc.edu ​Y-143
Dr. Adeyemi Adesuyi ​(773) 602-5172 aadesuyi@ccc.edu ​ ​Y-144
​Dr. Edward Butler ​(773) 602-5172 ebutler17@ccc.edu ​Y-144
Mathias Dal ​​(773) 602-5172 mdall@ccc.edu ​Y-144
Dr. ​Daniel Davis ​(773) 602-5462 ddavis362@ccc.edu ​Y-142
Dr. Karen Douglass ​(773) 602-5174 kdouglass1@ccc.edu ​Y-141
​Nora Gaines ​(773) 502-5172 ngaines3@ccc.edu ​Y-144
​Dr. Bonnie Harrison ​(773) 602-5170 bharrison9@ccc.edu ​Y-139
​Shandria Holmes ​(773) 602-5105 sholmes65@ccc.edu ​Y-154
Charlie Hughes ​​(773) 602-5166 chughes23@ccc.edu ​Y-140
​Leland Jackson ​(773) 602-5371 ​​ljackson@ccc.edu ​W-252
​Michael Mathis ​(773) 502-5172 mmathis1@ccc.edu ​Y-144
Kathy Mayorga ​​(773) 502-5172 mayorga2@ccc.edu ​Y-144
​Ciara Miller ​(773) 502-5172 cmiller158@ccc.edu ​Y-144
​Dr. Martin Miller ​​​(773) 502-5172 mmiller97@ccc.edu ​Y-144
​Shahari Moore ​(773) 602-5305 smoore@ccc.edu ​Y-132
​Jack Smith ​(773) 502-5172​ jsmith1@ccc.edu ​Y-140
​Lorethea Spencer ​(773) 502-5172​ lspencer6@ccc.edu ​​Y-140
​Patrick Taitt ​(773) 502-5172​ ptaitt@ccc.edu ​Y-144
Dr. ​Jennifer Thompson-Watson ​(773) 602-5167 jthompson46@ccc.edu ​Y-142
​Howard Ward ​(773) 502-5172​ hward6@ccc.edu ​Y-144
​LaRoma White ​(773) 602-5106 lwhite12@ccc.edu ​Y-140
​​Staff​
Name ​Phone ​Email ​Office
​​Dorothee Butts​ ​(773) 602-5173 ​​dbutts@ccc.edu ​Y-131

Related Services

Contact Information

Phone: 
(773) 602-5172
Fax: 
(773) 602-5163
6401 South Halsted Street
Y Building - Y131
Chicago, IL 60621
Get Directions

Hours

Monday - Friday
9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Publications

Related Services

Learn More