Navigate Up
Sign In
district,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalert/feed.xml;washington,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerthw/feed.xml;truman,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerttr/feed.xml;daley,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertda/feed.xml;olive-harvey,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertoh/feed.xml;kennedy,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertkk/feed.xml;wright,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertwr/feed.xml;malcolm-x,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertmx/feed.xml

Student Government Association

 

 
 

sga_logos_SGA_CC_KK.jpg

The Student Government Association (SGA) provides a forum for the open exchange of views and ideas on matters of importance to students. The SGA defends students’ rights, advocates on behalf of students, and helps to formulate academic and institutional policies that affect students. It governs student clubs, groups and organizations and provides funding via its SGA annual budget allocation from the City Colleges of Chicago.  Finally, the SGA plans and sponsors social and cultural events throughout the academic year. 

Governance

The SGA is governed by the Guidelines for the Organization and Operation of Student Government Associations, Academic & Student Policy, and the Board Policies and Procedures for Management and Government.     

SGA Officers

SGA officers are students elected as representatives by the student body. Officers are advised by their appointed advisor and the Associate Dean of Student Development (or designee). SGA officers must maintain a minimum of 6 credit hours with a cumulative grade point average of 2.75.  Elections for SGA officers and senators occur annually during the spring semester. The SGA offers a great opportunity for students to develop or enhance their leadership skills.    
      
General Membership     
Membership is open to students that are in good academic and social standing, with a cumulative grade point average of 2.0.     
      

Get Involved!

Your SGA officers encourage students to get involved. If you have ideas that can benefit students or concerns, please contact one of your SGA officers.     
 

Programs

 

Faculty & Staff

Related Services

SGA Officers ​Title ​Email Room ​Telephone
Darius Ballinger President dballinger1@student.ccc.edu W-258​ (773) 602-5092
Lavada Smith Vice President lsmith504@student.ccc.edu W-258​ (773) 602-5109
Fatia Thomas​ ​Secretary fthomas31@student.ccc.edu​ W-258​ (773) 602-5093​
Henry Miller ​​Treasurer hmiller16@student.ccc.edu W-258​ (773) 602-5093
Jonathan Talley Head Senator​ jtalley3@student.ccc.edu W-258​ (773) 602-5109​


SGA Advisor​ ​Email Room ​Telephone
Synobia Jones​ sjones272@ccc.edu W-110​ (773) 602-5060


​Administrator ​Title ​Email ​Telephone
​Isaac Zuniga
Associate Dean, Student Services     
izuniga2@ccc.edu (773) 602-5499
Equan Burrows ​Student Activities Director​ eburrows@ccc.edu (773) 487-6983​

Contact Information

Phone: 
 
Fax: 
 
6301 S. Halsted St.
 
Chicago, IL 60621
Get Directions

Hours

Learn More