Navigate Up
Sign In
district,https://zapier.com/engine/rss/1124838/EverbridgeNotification2/;washington,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerthw/feed.xml;truman,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerttr/feed.xml;daley,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertda/feed.xml;olive-harvey,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertoh/feed.xml;kennedy,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertkk/feed.xml;wright,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertwr/feed.xml;malcolm-x,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertmx/feed.xml

Basic Nursing Assistant Training Program

Rhonda Phillips, MSN, CNS, RN

Associate Dean of Nursing
 
Credit Certificate
Students are introduced to the discipline of nursing and the basic approaches to patient care. The role of the CNA as an assistant to the licensed nurse and member of the health care team is studied and practiced in the classroom, simulation laboratory and clinical setting. Upon successful completion of all components of the program, the graduate must pass the State's competency exam to become recognized as a Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) in the State of Illinois.

Classes
Five program offerings are scheduled each year – two in the spring and fall, one during the summer. Students are responsible for completing the required theory and clinical hours. Theory class is held 3 days per week (M-Th) for 6.5 hours each day completed by a scheduled minimum of 40 clinical hours by program end, at an external clinical site. Classes are held at both our campuses, main -MXC, 1900 W Jackson and– West Side Learning Center, 4624 W Madison Street.
 
Class times
Morning sessions – 8:00 am – 3:00 pm
Evening sessions – 3:30 pm – 10:00 pm

Cost
Tuition - (plus costs for books, uniforms, physical examination, Healthcare Worker Background Check, CPR class, state exam)
 
Requirements
  • Completion of college entrance test
  • Attendance at a BNA information session
  • Submission of medically compliant/documentation
  • Attendance at a BNA orientation session in semester of program

Health Science Program Special Admissions:              

  • Students interested in the BNA program are required to submit their intent (see sidebar to link)
  • Students will receive an automatic confirmation email
  • If academic pre-requisites are met, the student will be notified that s/he meets the academic requirement for the program and will be contacted by the BNA Coordinator regarding next steps
Information Sessions: 
Every Monday (except holidays) 
MXC room 1303
1900 West Jackson
Chicago, IL 60612
 9:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. & 1:30 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.  (each session lasts for 1 hour)

Orientation Session
Registered BNA students are required to attend one session prior to the start of their program. The details for each session will be sent to the student’s City Colleges of Chicago email address.      
​​​​​​​​​
 

Programs

 

Faculty & Staff

Name/Title Phone Email Room
Rhonda Phillips, MSN, CNS, RN  (Assoc. Dean)               rphillips2@ccc.edu 3534
Lorita Collins (BNA Coordinator) (312) 850-4639 lcollins35@ccc.edu 2102 & 102 WSLC
Magaly Roldan (Clerical) (312) 850-7376 mroldan8@ccc.edu 3100
Lorraine Cross MSc. (Program Support Specialist) (312) 850-7195 lcross@ccc.edu​ 2401
       
Instructors Phone Email Room
Carolyn Alford   calford@ccc.edu 3100
Barbara Jordan   Bjordan7@ccc.edu 3100
Defrances Higgs   Dhiggs7@ccc.edu 3100
Denise Hong   dhong@ccc.edu 3100
Devoria Williams   Dwilliams448@ccc.edu 3100
Eve-lyn Packer   epacker@ccc.edu 3100
Felicia Newton
Fnewton@ccc.edu 3100

Nancy Roddy   nroddy@ccc.edu 3100
Patricia Hines   Phines2@ccc.edu 3100

Shirley Butler                    

  sbutler26@ccc.edu 3100
​​​​​​

Related Services

Contact Information

Phone: 
(312) 850-7195
Fax: 
 
1900 W. Jackason Blvd.
 
Chicago, IL 60612
Get Directions

Hours

Monday - Thurday
9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Friday
9:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.

Related Services