Navigate Up
Sign In
district,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalert/feed.xml;washington,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerthw/feed.xml;truman,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerttr/feed.xml;daley,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertda/feed.xml;olive-harvey,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertoh/feed.xml;kennedy,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertkk/feed.xml;wright,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertwr/feed.xml;malcolm-x,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertmx/feed.xml

Chemistry and Physics

Yoriel Marcano, Ph.D.

Department Chair
 

​The Department of Physics and Chemistry offers courses for students seeking to fulfill prerequisites for admission to Allied Health Programs (Chemistry 121, 201). Transferrable college credit courses are also offered in both chemistry (general and organic chemistry) and physics. Students interested in applying to medical school and/or taking the MCAT exam could benefit from taking Organic Chemistry. Undergraduate research options are also a possibility.

Smart and cutting-edge studio classrooms
The department features state-of-the-art instrumentation and instructional facilities. We have a gas chromatography/mass spectrometer, as well as an infrared spectrometer, along with standard laboratory glassware and materials. Our classes are taught in smart classrooms which include a modern studio classroom and a student/instructor ratio is maintained at 35:1 or below.

 

Programs

Chemistry Focus
 

Faculty & Staff

Name Phone Email Office
Yoriel Marcano, Ph.D.
(312) 850-7399
ymarcano1@ccc.edu Room 3113
Joshua Oladipo MSc MEd CPhys MInstP
(312) 850-7396
joladipo@ccc.edu Room 3110
Gitendra Paul, Ph.D. (312) 850-7398 gpaul@ccc.edu Room 3112
Neil Miranda, M.D. (312) 850-7400 nmiranda19@ccc.edu Room 3114

Adjuncts

M. Ebrahimi (312) 850-7346 mebrahimi1@ccc.edu Room 2522
N. Miranda (312) 850-7346 nmiranda19@ccc.edu Room 2522
N. Vargas (312) 850-7346 nvargas@ccc.edu Room 2522
M. Woldeyohannes (312) 850-7346 mwoldeyohannes@ccc.edu Room 2522
T.Y. Obidi (312) 850-7346 yobidi@ccc.edu Room 2522
 
Support Staff      
Victoria Walker, Admin. Asst. (312) 850-7337 vwalker7@ccc.edu Room 2522
Roberto Guzman, Lab Coordinator (312) 850-7397  rguzman90@ccc.edu Room 3111

Related Services

Contact Information

Phone: 
(312) 850-7399
Fax: 
 
1900 W. Van Buren St.
Room 3110
Chicago, IL 60612
Get Directions

Hours

Monday-Friday
8:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m.

Publications

Related Services