Navigate Up
Sign In
district,https://zapier.com/engine/rss/1124838/EverbridgeNotification2/;washington,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerthw/feed.xml;truman,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerttr/feed.xml;daley,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertda/feed.xml;olive-harvey,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertoh/feed.xml;kennedy,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertkk/feed.xml;wright,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertwr/feed.xml;malcolm-x,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertmx/feed.xml

Physical Sciences

Gitendra Paul, Ph.D.

Department Chair
 

The Physical Sciences Department offers courses for students seeking to fulfill prerequisites for admission to Health Careers Programs (Chemistry 121, 201, and Physics 131). Transferrable college credit courses are also offered in both chemistry (general and organic chemistry) and physics. Students interested in applying to medical school and/or taking the MCAT exam could benefit from taking Organic Chemistry. Undergraduate research options are also a possibility.          

Smart and cutting-edge studio classrooms
The department features state-of-the-art instrumentation and instructional facilities. We have a gas chromatography/mass spectrometer, as well as an infrared spectrometer, along with standard laboratory glassware and materials. Our classes are taught in smart classrooms which include modern studio classrooms and a student/instructor ratio is maintained at 35:1 or below.​​
​​​​​​

Mission Statement  

 

The mission of the department is to provide comprehensive and rigorous physics and chemistry curricula that enable students’ successful transition to careers and/or associate and bachelor degree programs.   

 

The Physical Sciences Department offers courses in chemistry, physics, and physics with health science applications in safe state-of-the-art smart classrooms and laboratories.  These courses are offered for students seeking to fulfill prerequisites for admission to Health Careers Programs (Chemistry 121, 201, and Physics 131). Transferrable college credit courses are also offered in both chemistry (general and organic chemistry) and physics. Students interested in applying to medical school and/or taking the MCAT exam could benefit from taking Organic Chemistry. Undergraduate research options are also a possibility. 

_MG_6029.png

_MG_6034.png

_MG_6042.png

_MG_6055.png

_MG_6062.png

_MG_6075.png

 

 

Programs

 

Faculty & Staff

Name Phone Email Office
Yoriel Marcano, Ph.D. (312) 850-7399    ymarcano1@ccc.edu 2401-R
Joshua Oladipo MSc MEd CPhys MInstP (312) 850-7396 joladipo@ccc.edu 2401-094
Gitendra Paul, Ph.D. (312) 850-7398 gpaul@ccc.edu 2401-M
Neil Miranda, Ph.D. (312) 850-7400 nmiranda19@ccc.edu 2401-097
Halle Morrison, M.S. (312) 850-4581 hmorrison@ccc.edu 2401-095
Merhatibeb Woldeyohannes, Ph.D. (312) 850-4582​ mwoldeyohannes@ccc.edu 2401-098
Support Staff      
Victoria Walker, Admin. Asst. (312) 850-7337 vwalker7@ccc.edu 2401-071
Roberto Guzman, M.Ed, Project Laboratory Coordinator (312) 850-7897  rguzman90@ccc.edu 4413
Laboratory Coordinator      
Jennifer Guerrero, B.S., College Laboratory Assistant I (312) 850-4576 jguerrero124@ccc.edu 4413
       

Related Services

Contact Information

Phone: 
(312) 850-7398
Fax: 
 
1900 West Jackson Blvd.
Room 2401-M
Chicago, IL 60612
Get Directions

Hours

Monday-Friday
8:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m.

Publications

Related Services