Navigate Up
Sign In
district,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalert/feed.xml;washington,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerthw/feed.xml;truman,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerttr/feed.xml;daley,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertda/feed.xml;olive-harvey,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertoh/feed.xml;kennedy,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertkk/feed.xml;wright,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertwr/feed.xml;malcolm-x,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertmx/feed.xml

Emergency Medical Services

Susan Santacaterina, MHPE

Director
 

​Careers in Emergency Medical Services ​

       
A career in Emergency Medical Services (EMS) focuses on responding to medical emergencies. EMS education provides the student with the knowledge and skill to recognize symptoms of illness and injury.  The training can range from the basics taught at the first responder level (EMR) to the highly skilled level of the paramedic.  Courses blend experience in the classroom, laboratory and field preparing professionals to make quick, emergent decisions in patient management. Students must have a sincere desire to work with people and must be empathetic to the needs of the sick and injured. Chicago EMS systems utilize two levels of practice; a basic life support, carried out by the EMT and an advanced life support, carried out by the paramedic. Successful students in both the EMT and paramedic programs are eligible to be licensed by the State of Illinois, Department of Public Health.   
  • If you have any questions, please call the EMS office at 312-850-7124.
Note of the admission requirements which includes a college level Anatomy and Physiology course. This course must be successfully completed prior to program interviews in early June.

Candidate selections are made by interview process.  Interviews are granted to students who submitted a complete application before the deadline and attain acceptable scores on the entrance exam.  The interviews will be scheduled sometime between May 28th and June 18th.

The deadline to submit the application is the last Friday in April
 ​​​
 

Programs

Emergency Medical Technician - Basic
EMT II: Paramedic
 

Faculty & Staff

Paramedic Staff      

Name

Phone      

Email       

   Office     

Susan Santacaterina
Paramedic Program Director

312-850-7303      

ssantacaterina@ccc.edu      

  0203C

       

Carolyn Cirton
Office Coordinator

       

312-850-7124                     

       

ccirton@ccc.edu      

       

0203    

       

Patrick Mroczek
Paramedic Didactic
Coordinator

Brenda Burke
Paramedic Clinical Coordinator

       

312 – 850-3534     

       

312-850-3534     

       

pmroczek@ccc.ed 

       

bburke7@ccc.edu     

       

        

       

         

       

Margaret Murphy
Field Clinical Coordinator

       

312 – 850-3534     

       

mmurphy23@ccc.edu     

       

  

EMT Staff      

Name

Phone      

Email       

Office      

Tony Scipione
EMT Program Director

312-850-7410      

tscipione@ccc.edu      

0203‐008      

       

Rick Bauknecht
EMS Coordinator

       

312-850-7410      

       

rbauknecht@ccc.edu      

       

     

       

Carolyn Cirton
Office Coordinator

       

312-850-7124      

       

ccirton@ccc.edu      

       

      

       

       

William Passmore
EMT Instructor

312 – 850-3534​     

wpassmore@ccc.edu​     

     

       

       

James Thorpe
EMT Instructor

Robert Caron
First Responder/EMR Instructor

312-850-3534     

       

312-850-3534     

jthorpe@ccc.edu     

       

rcaron@ccc.edu     

     

       

     

Related Services

Contact Information

Phone: 
(312) 850-7124
Fax: 
 
1900 W. Jackson Blvd.
Room 0203G
Chicago, IL 60612
Get Directions

Hours

Monday through Friday 8:30 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.

Publications