Navigate Up
Sign In
district,https://zapier.com/engine/rss/1124838/EverbridgeNotification2/;washington,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerthw/feed.xml;truman,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerttr/feed.xml;daley,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertda/feed.xml;olive-harvey,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertoh/feed.xml;kennedy,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertkk/feed.xml;wright,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertwr/feed.xml;malcolm-x,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertmx/feed.xml

Nursing Department

Dr. James Rice

Interim Dean of Nursing
 
The Fall 2017 A.A.S. Degree  in Nursing application cycle is extended to July 21, 2017 at 11:59 p.m.
  • Graduates of the program successfully meet the requirements for the Associate in Applied Science Degree in Nursing (A.A.S) and qualif y to take the National Council Licensure Examination for Registered Nurses (NCLEX-RN)
  • The Fall 2017 Practical Nursing application cycle is extended to July 21, 2017 at 11:59 p.m.
  • Graduates of the program successfully meet the requirements for the Practical Nursing Advanced Certificate and qualify to take the National Council Licensure Examination for Practical Nursing
  • (NCLEX-PN)
The Fall 2017 LPN Bridge Program application cycle is closed as of May 30, 2017 at 11:59 p.m.
  • Graduates of the program successfully meet the requirements for the Associate in Applied Science Degree in Nursing (A.A.S) and qualify to take the National Council Licensure Examination for Registered Nurses (NCLEX-RN)
                                       

Additional Information:

  • Students completing pre-requisite courses at one of the City Colleges of Chicago campuses by the end of the summer 2017 session may apply for fall 2017 enrollment.
  • LPN Bridge Program students must complete the application process by May 30, 2017. Accepted students must self-enroll for Nursing 140 which begins June 7, 2017.
  • Students completing the final pre-requisite requirement of BNA at Malcolm X College during the summer 2017 session may apply for the fall 2017 AAS Nursing Program. CNA certification must be attained prior to the end of the fall 2017 semester. Students will not progress in the nursing program if this condition is not met.


How to Apply

                                       
Complete the A.A.S. Degree in Nursing online application.                                 
                                       
Complete the Practical Nursing online application.                                    
                                       

Careers in Nursing

                                       
The Nursing Program is a two-year, 69-credit hour program. Graduates of the Nursing Program successfully meet the requirements for the Associate in Applied Science Degree in Nursing (A.A.S.) and qualify to take the National Council Licensure Examination for Registered Nurses (NCLEX-RN). The curriculum comprises general education, science, and nursing courses. The natural and social science principles are integrated throughout the curriculum.                                               
                                                 
Affiliations                                                                                            
                                                 
The program is affiliated with various hospitals, clinics, nursing homes, and other community agencies to offer students the best supervised clinical learning experiences available in medical-surgical, mental health, maternal-child health, pediatric, and gerontological nursing. The curriculum is designed to prepare the student for employment as a Registered Nurse in a variety of settings such as: hospitals, clinics, nursing homes, physician offices, schools, public health, government, the military, and industry.                                  
                                                 
Training                                               
                                                 
Students who want to pursue a nursing career should have a sincere desire to work with people and be empathetic to their needs. Becoming a nursing professional is rigorous, but most nurses derive considerable satisfaction from knowing that their work contributes directly to the well-being of others.                                               
                                                 
Accreditation                                                                
                                                 
The Commission affirmed the continuing accreditation and changed the accreditation status to continuing accreditation with conditions  after a focused visit to the following programs:                                                                 
  • City Colleges of Chicago at Malcolm X College (Associate) Chicago, IL following the consolidation of the City Colleges of Chicago nursing programs
For more information on the status and/or findings, visit http://www.acenursing.org/acen-commission-actions-spring-2016-accreditation-cycle/                                                                                
                                                 
                                                                  
                                                 
                                               
Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing                                               
3343 Peachtree Road NE, Suite 850 Atlanta,                                              
Georgia 30326                                              
                                                 
​​       
       
​​​​​​​
 
 

Faculty & Staff

 

Administration      
Name Title Phone Email
Dr. James Rice, DNP,RN, FNP-BC  Interim Dean, Nursing (312) 850-7159 rice36@ccc.edu
Dr.Linda Brown-Aldridge, DNP, RN  Interim Associate Dean (312) 850-7187 lbrown-aldridge@ccc.edu
Rhonda Phillips, MSN, CNS, RN Associate Dean (312) 850-7387 rphillips2@ccc.edu
Dr. Yolanda Harper Morris, DNP, RN Department Chair (312) 850-7245 yharper-morris@ccc.edu
Lorraine Cross, MS Nursing Support Spec. (312) 850-7195 lcross@ccc.edu
Collins, Lorita, MSN, RN BNA Coordinator (312) 850-4639 lcollins35@ccc.edu
Faculty & Staff
Name Title Phone Email
Abdullah, Rashidah, MSN, APN, CNM Instructor (312) 850-7151 rabdullah@ccc.edu
Allen, Donna, MSN, RN, ANP Instructor (312) 850-7155 dallen23@ccc.edu
Arrington, Yvonne, MSN, RN Instructor (312) 850-7165 yarrington@ccc.edu
Burt, Jean, MSN, RN Instructor (312) 850-7179 jburt@ccc.edu
Carrarini, Roy, MSN, RN, APN-CRRN Assistant Professor (312) 850-7289 rcarrarini@ccc.edu
Dade, Angela, MSN, RN, ANP-C Assistant Professor (312) 850-7132 adade1@ccc.edu
Davis, Dr. Brenda, DNP, MSN, RN, 
FNP, APRN
Assistant Professor (312) 850-7392 bdavis84@ccc.edu
Diaz-Boylan, Maricruz, MSN, RN Instructor (312) 850-7199 mdiaz60@ccc.edu
Duyungan, Imelda, MSN, RN Instructor (312) 850-7203 iduyungan@ccc.edu
Elkins, Rubie, MSN, RN Instructor (312) 850-7343 relkins@ccc.edu
Elutilo, Olugbenga, MSN, RN Instructor (312) 850-7209 oelutilo@ccc.edu
Evans-Garner, Narsis MSN, RN Assistant Professor (312) 850-7218 ngarner@ccc.edu
Folker-Maglaya, Dr. Catherine, DNP,
APN-CNM, IBCLC
Associate Professor (312) 850-7220 cfolker-maglaya@ccc.edu
Hai, Asra, MSN, RN Assistant Professor (312) 850-3528 ahai8@ccc.edu
Harmon, Loretta, MSN, RN Instructor (312) 850-7240 lharmon8@ccc.edu
Huda, Shamin, MSN, RN, FNP-BC Assistant Professor (312) 850-7265 shuda2@ccc.edu
Jahn, Deborah, MS, RN Instructor (312) 850-7474 djahn1@ccc.edu
Jones, Brenda, MSN, RN,
 CNS, NP-C, APN
Associate Professor (312) 850-4585 bjones110@ccc.edu
Kipnis, Nancy, MSN, RN, CNE Assistant Professor (312) 850-7283 nkipnis@ccc.edu
Lewis, Letasha, MSN, RN, FNP-C Instructor (312) 850-7321 llewis107@ccc.edu
McGhee, Greta, MSN, RN Instructor (312) 850-7293 gmcghee1@ccc.edu
Mensah, Kathy, MSN, RN Instructor (312) 850-7308 kmensah@ccc.edu
Montero, Ines, MSN, RN Assistant Professor (312) 850-7309 imontero2@ccc.edu
Neal, Susan, MSN, RN Instructor (312) 850-3533 sneal37@ccc.edu
Peer, Virginia, MSN, RN Instructor (312) 850-7353 vpeer@ccc.edu
Piltawer, Jennifer, MSN, RN,
RNC-OB, C-EFM
Instructor (312) 850-7268 jpiltawer@ccc.edu
Preston, Maria, MSN, RN Assistant Professor (312) 850-7359 mpreston4@ccc.edu
Rufus, Tanisha, MSN, RN Assistant Professor (312) 850-7380 trufus2@ccc.edu
Sanders, Renita, MSN, RN Instructor (312) 850-7280 rsanders85@ccc.edu
Scott-Brand, Tammy, MSN, RN Assistant Professor (312) 850-4584 tscott-brand@ccc.edu
Soberano, Mary Rose, MSN, RN Instructor (312) 850-7413 msoberano@ccc.edu
Stevens, Sondae, MSN, RN, CNE Assistant Professor (312) 850-7415 sstevens14@ccc.edu
Thomas, Dr. Carla, DNP,
 MSN, FNP-C, RN-BC
Assistant Professor (312) 850-7130 cthomas294@ccc.edu
Wilson, Dr. Dawn, DNP, MSN, RN Instructor (312) 850-7461 dwilson150@ccc.edu
Wyatt, Debra, MSN, RN Instructor (312) 850-7468 dwyatt1@ccc.edu
Zimmermann, Polly, MSN, RN Associate Professor (312) 850-7408 pzimmermann@ccc.edu
Nursing Staff      
Name Title Phone Email
Adams-Moore, Patricia, RN Nursing Tutor (312) 850-7367 padams-moore@ccc.edu
Arnold, Sylvia Coordinator (312) 850-3543 sarnold@ccc.edu
Deck, Sheryl, BSN, RN Nursing Lab Coordinator (312) 850-7048 sdeck@ccc.edu
Scott, Toni ,MSN, RN  Clinical Coordinator (312)850-7200 tscott132@ccc.edu
Green, Amy, MSN, RN Clinical Coordinator (312) 850-8054 agreen150@ccc.edu
Harris,-Ward, Vanisha College Admin Ass. I (312) 850-7251 vharris@ccc.edu
Johnson Shannon, BSN, RN Nursing Lab Coordinator (312) 850-7367  sjohnson160@ccc.edu
McLaughlin, Mary, BSN,RN Nursing Lab Coordinator   mmclaughlin7@ccc.edu
Nicholson, Sharon, MSN, RN Director-Clinical Education (312) 850-7192 snicholson12@ccc.edu
Okhilua, Dr. ​​Daniel, DNP, RN Nursing Lab Manager (312) 850-7367 dokhilua@ccc.edu
Paone, Patricia, MSN, APN, CNP Nursing Education Specialist (312) 850-4571 ppaone@ccc.edu
Robinson, Jerri, MSN, RN, MPA Nursing Education Specialist (312) 850-7369 jrobinson188@ccc.edu
Roldan, Magaly College Clerical Ass. II (312) 850-7376 mroldan8@ccc.edu
Witherspoon, Eugenia College Clerical Ass. II (312) 850-7182 ewitherspoon1@ccc.edu
Zavala, Gabriela College Clerical Ass. II (312) 850-7470 gsanchez@ccc.edu
Hernandez, Angel, MSN, FNP-BC Nursing Tutor (312) 850-7367 ahernandez217@ccc.edu
McCree, Phyllis, MSN, RN Nursing Education Specialist (312) 850-7388 pmccree@ccc.edu


Nursing Department
Phone: (312) 850-7159
Fax:     (312) 850-7208​​​​​​​​​​​

Related Services