Navigate Up
Sign In
district,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalert/feed.xml;washington,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerthw/feed.xml;truman,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerttr/feed.xml;daley,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertda/feed.xml;olive-harvey,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertoh/feed.xml;kennedy,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertkk/feed.xml;wright,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertwr/feed.xml;malcolm-x,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertmx/feed.xml

Instruction

Kimberly Hollingsworth

Dean, Office of Instruction
 

​What we do

The Office of Instruction administers the General Education curriculum at Malcolm X College. Included in the Gen Ed curriculum are courses in the disciplines of fine arts, humanities, mathematics, natural sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, world languages, and written and oral communication.

Gen Ed courses enable students to learn and apply scholarship from multiple disciplines in order to solve complex and everyday academic, social, ethical, and philosophical problems of local and global significance.

Courses within the General Education curriculum help students develop abilities in:

  1. Critical, ethical, and logical thinking
  2. Effective communication
  3. Quantitative reasoning
  4. Scientific competency
  5. Technological and information literacy
  6. Global consciousness
  7.  
 

Programs

Associate in Arts
 

Faculty & Staff

Name Email Phone Office
Kimberly Hollingsworth, 
Dean - Office of Instruction

khollingsworth@ccc.edu (312) 850-7301 Room 2209
William O'Donnell, 
Associate Dean - Office of Instruction

wodonnell@ccc.edu (312) 850-7262 Room 2214
David St. John, PhD -
Director, Developmental Education
dstjohn@ccc.edu (312) 850-7201 Room 2209
Sheila Vaughn, Administrative Assistant

svaughn3@ccc.edu (312) 850-7302 Room 2209
Alfred McQuarters,
Biology Dept. Chair

amcquarters@ccc.edu (312) 850-7481 Room 3316
Nneka Anigbogu,
Math Dept. Chair

nanigbogu@ccc.edu (312) 850-7404 Room 3209
Joshua Oladipo 
Physics & Chemistry Dept. Chair

joladipo@ccc.edu (312) 850-7285 Room 3110
Natural and Social Sciences Dept. Chair

Victoria L. Walker,
College Clerical Assistant II,
Natural and Social Sciences

vwalker7@ccc.edu (312) 850-7337 Room 2522
Maria (Lani) Montreal
English Dept. Chair

mmontreal@ccc.edu (312) 850-7313 Room 2509
Gabriela Muralles-Ball,
Humanities and World Languages Dept. Chair

gmurallesball@ccc.edu (312) 850-7318 Room 2516
Reginah Walton, 
Communications and Fine Arts Dept. Chair

rwalton1@ccc.edu (312) 850-7331 Room 2540
Tonya Gilmer, College Clerical Cssistant II,
Communication & Fine Arts

tgilmer@ccc.edu (312) 850-7306 Room 2519
CM! Winters Palacio,
Library Instruction  Dept. Chair
cwinterspalacio@ccc.edu (312) 850-7249 Room 2113

Related Services

Contact Information

Phone: 
(312) 850-7302
Fax: 
(312) 942-2470
1900 W. Van Buren St.
Room 2209
Chicago, IL 60612
Get Directions

Hours

Events

Related Services