Navigate Up
Sign In
district,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalert/feed.xml;washington,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerthw/feed.xml;truman,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerttr/feed.xml;daley,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertda/feed.xml;olive-harvey,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertoh/feed.xml;kennedy,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertkk/feed.xml;wright,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertwr/feed.xml;malcolm-x,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertmx/feed.xml

Truman Middle College- Alternative High School (17 to 21 years old)

Mary Ann Soley

Principal (Truman Middle College) msoley@ccc.edu
 

Truman Middle college is for the 17 to 21 year old student who dropped out of high school and wishes to earn a high school diploma. Through the Truant’s Alternative and Optional Education Program (TAOEP), students who have dropped out of high school can enroll in Truman Middle College, Olive-Harvey Middle College, or one of the nine alternative high schools funded through this program.  On the right is a list of TAOEP high schools and their contact information. Click on any of those schools to learn more.    

APPLYING TO TRUMAN MIDDLE COLLEGE
Students interested in enrolling in Truman Middle College must apply online at applytoyccs.com and complete the application.  Here they will be asked to list their top three schools within the YCCS network of 20 schools.
Apply online at a YCCS school at applytoyccs.com. Please note, Truman only accepts new students twice a year-in the Fall: July - September and in the Winter: January - February. Please apply online now if it is an enrollment period! 

GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS
Truman is moving to a one year residency requirement in order to fulfill career pathway goals and allow time for skill building in reading and mathematics. To meet graduation requirements beginning 2012-13, all incoming students must earn 21  total credits in the following areas: 4 credits in English w/ 2 possible sequences English l, ll, lll, and or Humanities l, ll, lll, IV, 3 credits in Math w/ 2 possible sequences Algebra l, Geometry, Applied math or advanced  math or integrated math l, ll, and lll, 3 credits in Science, 3 credits in Social studies, 3 credits in Fine arts/Foreign Language/Vocational/Career education earning 1 credit in foreign language, 1 credit in PE/Health, 1 credit in career/vocation ed. 

Additionally, students must show growth in reading and math on their STAR assessment. By graduation, each student must reach 10.0 in reading 9.0 in math to meet graduation requirements.  

LENGTH OF SCHOOL DAY
Every student is expected to report to school for 300 minutes a day unless they are enrolled in our School-to-Work program.  Truman will have 6 classes - each 55 minutes ​in length. Students are allowed to leave campus for lunch but must return for the second half of the school day. School begins at 8:20 a.m. and ends at 3:20 p.m. Teachers are available to service students until 4:00 p.m. each day.

SCHOOL-TO-WORK PROGRAM
Students have the option of enrolling in our School-to-Work program that allows them to report to work after lunch.  Students must provide the following information to be approved for the program:
1. Work schedule
2. Pay check stub
3. School-to-Work form completed by student and signed by supervisor


DUAL ENROLLMENT AND DUAL CREDIT
Truman is working to create career pathways for students as they strive to be college eligible and college ready. Students have the opportunity to earn dual credit, high school and college credit, in addition to taking college courses within Truman City College. To earn college credit, students must take the COMPASS exam and score high enough to be accepted into entry level courses, i.e. English 101 and 102 or Math 118 or 140. Another way to become eligible to enroll in college courses is by earning a 21 in math and/ or a 19 in English on the ACT exam. These college credits are at no cost to the student.

POST-SECONDARY SUPPORT
One thing Truman is proud of is its post-secondary support for students. Truman currently has two career coaches and a post-secondary team that works diligently to ensure all potential graduates have achieved their post-secondary goals.  Each student is assigned a career coach to assist in the completion of FAFSA applications, college applications, scholarship applications, service learning hours, etc.  ​​

 

Programs

 

Faculty & Staff

Office Personnel  

Antwoine Brown, Student Development Coordinator- abrown471@ccc.edu 

Marcus Brown, Administrative Assistant- mbrown@ccc.edu  

Croft, Cassandra, Counselor- ccroft2@ccc.edu  

Gloria Gonzalez, Clerical- ggonzalez@ccc.edu  

Kristin Greer, Assistant Principal- kgreer12@ccc.edu  

Richard Horowitz, Social Worker- rhorowitz@ccc.edu  

Jide’ Ofoma, Student Records Coordinator- jofoma1@ccc.edu 

David Shawanokasic, Clerical- dshawanokasic@ccc.edu 

Mary Ann Soley, Principal- msoley@ccc.edu 

Kim Swise, Director of Compliance- kswise@ccc.edu 

   

Instructional Staff  

Carol Brigham, Math Teacher- ckohlman@ccc.edu  

James Callahan, Science Teacher- jcallahan@ccc.edu  

Tamaria Crider, Social Science Teacher- tcrider1@ccc.edu 

Tracy Estes, Math Teacher- testes3@ccc.edu  

Taylor Fisher, Science Teacher- tfisher@ccc.edu  

Amy Guajardo, English Teacher- aguajardo4@ccc.edu  

Jason Gylling, Math Teacher- jgylling@ccc.edu 

Dorie Hodges, Social Science Teacher- dhodges31@ccc.edu 

Abdul Memon, Spanish & Computer Science Teacher- amemon@ccc.edu 

Jack Murphy, English Teacher - jmurphy72@ccc.edu  

Jeffrey Rice, Social Science Teacher- jrice11@ccc.edu  

Amy Wolff, English Teacher- awolff2@ccc.edu                

Michelle Yoo, English Teacher- myoo5@ccc.edu 

 

Related Services

Contact Information

Phone: 
(773) 907-4840
Fax: 
(773) 907-4844
1145 W. Wilson Avenue
 
Chicago, IL 60640
Get Directions

Hours

Monday-Friday
8:00 am to 4:00 pm

Publications

Related Services

Olive-Harvey Middle College
10001 S. Woodlawn Avenue, Building 7
Chicago, IL 60628
(773) 291-6518

Truman Middle College
1145 W. Wilson Avenue
Chicago, IL 60640
(773) 907-4840

Academyof Scholastic Achievement 
4651 W. Madison Street   
Chicago, IL 60644    
(773) 921-1315

Antonia Pantoja High School  
3121 N. Pulaski Avenue   
Chicago, IL 60641    
(773) 252-0970

Association House of Chicago - El Cuarto Ano  
1116 N. Kedzie Avenue
Chicago, IL 60651
(773) 772-7170 ext. 1040

Austin Career Education Center   
5352 W. Chicago Avenue   
Chicago, IL 60651    
(773) 626-6988

Community Christian Alternative Academy   
1231 S. Pulaski Road   
Chicago, IL 60623    
(773) 762-2272


17 N. State Street, Suite 300   
Chicago, IL 60602   
(312) 999-9360

716 W. Addison   
Chicago, IL 60613    
(773) 281-3065

Winnie Mandela Alternative High School    
7847 W. Jeffrey Boulevard   
Chicago IL 60629   
(773) 375-0529

Sullivan House   
8164 S. South Chicago Avenue   
Chicago, IL 60617    
(773) 978-8680