Sign In
district,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalert/feed.xml;washington,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerthw/feed.xml;truman,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerttr/feed.xml;daley,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertda/feed.xml;olive-harvey,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertoh/feed.xml;kennedy,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertkk/feed.xml;wright,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertwr/feed.xml;malcolm-x,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertmx/feed.xml

The Gateway Advising and Transfer Center

Maria Llópiz

Associate Dean, Student Services
 

Meet With an Advisor Today             

Our academic advisors are highly trained professionals who can guide you from your first day as a student to graduation. We encourage you to get to know your advisor and to take advantage of the wide range of services he or she can provide. ​Students can make an appointment with an academic advisor in two ways:​     ​         
          
1) Log into GradesFirst, a web-based student support tool, here. (Unfamiliar with GradesFirst? Watch this short video​​ on how to use it to make an appointment.)   

2) Contact the Advising Office to set up an appointment to meet with your Academic Advisor. Contact information is in the right column of this page.​         

See our helpful advising tips on how to get the most out of your advising appointment. You should meet with your Advisor at least once each semester, more often if needed.         

See your Advisor if you are:

  • Struggling with your current classes; help is available
  • Unsure about your education or career goals and options
  • Unsure if your academic plan (go to my.ccc.edu>Academics>View My Enrollment History to see your current academic plan) is aligned with your goals
  • Planning to transfer to a 4-year institution
  • Confused about your academic progress or degree requirements
  • Trying to use credits earned at a non-CCC college or university toward your graduation requirements
  • Looking for an academic plan to help guide you term-by-term and to help you easily register
  • Wanting to get involved in clubs and activities on campus
  • If you have a question about academics, services available to you, or anything else

We can help. Come see us!

Advisors will help you to clarify your education and career goals, create an academic plan, and explore options for a major or career. They will assist with problem-solving, explain academic and financial aid holds, and help with readmission (Satisfactory Academic Progress or SAP), withdrawals, and other academic questions or transactions.          

Services provided by the Advising Office

  • Student Orientation - important information all students need to know (especially for new students)
  • Academic, career and transfer advising - guidance each student needs to succeed
  • Creating an academic plan - your personal term-by-term plan to earn your degree or certificate
  • Registration for classes - so you know which classes you need and what sequence to meet your graduation requirements
  • Processing transfer credits - credits earned at a non-CCC institution that can be used toward program completion
  • Explanation and processing of academic and financial aid holds - Satisfactory Academic Progress or SAP
  • Grading policies - information about issues affecting grades
  • Referrals to campus and community resources
  • Wellness Center referrals
  • Degree audit - review of courses completed toward graduation
​​​​​​
 

Programs

 

Faculty & Staff

Phone​ Email​

Associate Dean of Student Services​  

Maria Llópiz​ (773) 481-8323​ mllopiz@ccc.edu

Director of Transfer Center 

Susan Calabrese (773) 481-8227 scalabrese@ccc.edu 

Departmental Support Staff  

Carolina Verdial (Administrative Assistant)​ (773) 481-8205​​ cverdial1@ccc.edu
Mabel Smreczak (International Students)​ (773) 481-8204​ msmreczak@ccc.edu
Michael Dubinin (Transfer Credit Evaluations)​ (773) 481-8203​ mdubinin@ccc.edu

College Advisors​         

Gerald "Chris" Alexander (773) 481-8118 galexander11@ccc.edu
​George Baird ​(773) 481-8184 gbaird@ccc.edu
​Elizabeth Castillo ​(773) 481-8225 ecastillo8@ccc.edu
Joanna Diaz (773) 481-8321​ jdiaz480@ccc.edu 
Yanet Diaz​ (773) 481-8413​ ydiaz19@ccc.edu
​Afton Donald ​(773) 481-8171 adonald2@ccc.edu
​Lizz Gardner (773) 481-8550​ egardner17@ccc.edu
Malgorzata Haptas​ (773) 481-8077​ mhaptas@ccc.edu
Alejandro Herrera​ (773) 481-8202​ aherrera59@ccc.edu
​Trevor Karmanian ​(773) 481-8204 tkarmanian@ccc.edu
​Joseph Kim ​(773) 481-8128 ​​hjim32@ccc.edu 
​Cynthia Lawrence ​(773) 481-8056 clawrence@ccc.edu 
Lauren Lopez (773) 481-8188​​ llopez298@ccc.edu
​Nelly Marcial ​(773) 481-8567 nmarcial2@ccc.edu
​Yolanda Martinez ​(773) 481-8324 ymartinez103@ccc.ed
Nicole Meuwsee​ (International Student Advisor) (773) 481-8618​ nmeeuwse@ccc.edu
Liz Miazek​ (773) 481-8322​ emiazek@ccc.edu
Oscar Núñez​ (773) 481-8174​ onunez9@ccc.edu
Mansol Towns​
(773) 481-8086 mtowns7@ccc.edu
Pier Underwood​
(773) 481-8439 punderwood@ccc.edu



Nancy Flores (HPVEC) (773) 489-8976 nflores74@ccc.edu
​Barbara Krzewinska (HPVEC) (773) 489-8989​ bkrzewinska@ccc.edu
​Rolando Sosa (HPVEC) (773) 489-8924​ rsosa19@ccc.edu

Related Services

Contact Information

Phone: 
(773) 481-8200
Fax: 
(773) 481-8083
4300 N. Narragansett Ave.
Gateway Advising and Transfer Center, Room A-120
Chicago, IL 60634
Get Directions

Hours

Office Hours:

Monday – Wednesday, 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Thursday, 9:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Friday, 9:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.

Publications

​Other Resources

Admissions          

Transfer Resources          

           

Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP)

Understanding Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP)          

Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) Holds & Alerts          

Appeal My Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) Hold          

How to Avoid Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) Holds & Alerts          

Grade Point Average (GPA) Requirements for Skills Students          

           

Wright College Admissions

Admissions Registration Checklist

Spring Reading Writing Workshops